For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
The John van Geuns Fund aims to promote scientific activities in the field of chemistry in Amsterdam. In 1969 this led to the establishment of a special chair in molecular spectroscopy at the University of Amsterdam.

As of 2021, Prof. Katrien Keune is appointed at the John van Geuns chair.


Over time, the following professors have been appointed:

Prof. S. (Sander) Woutersen (2014-2019).

Prof. A.M. (Fred) Brouwer (2006-2011).

Prof. W.J. (Wybren Jan) Buma (1999-2005).

Prof. C.J. (Kees) Elsevier (1995-1999).

Prof. M. (Max) Glasbeek (1988-1995).

Prof. J. (Jan) van der Elsken (1975-1985).

Prof. G.J. (Gerrit Jan) Hoijtink (1970-1975).